A-Z Challenge, Days 12-14

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

I feel myself crashing here…! This is up so late because turns out, finding something to say about every letter of the alphabet is not as easy as my introverted writing self always thought. But I finally did it, sort of!

So, here is my A-Z challenge Part 4!

April 14: L is for Love

I have the most conflicted feelings about love, but hey, love is the most conflicted feeling, so it makes sense. (I know I love Pixar, though!)

Love is in every Pixar movie, be it from parent to child, or between two really close friends, or some sort of male and female. And sometimes I like it and sometimes I don’t. For example, I love the Buzz and Jessie story, and the Carl and Ellie one (but okay, who doesn’t like that relationship), and of course the one between Wall-e and Eve. (And the relationship between Merida and her mother always made me cry because I love my mother so much.)

And that’s why I’m willing to give Toy Story 4 a chance. I think four movies is pushing it even if they could guarantee it will top Toy Story 3. So there better not be a Toy Story 5, and that’s all there is to it.

But Toy Story 4 promises to answer the question of why Bo Peep wasn’t there in Toy Story 3. Seriously, it’s actually supposed to be a love story. Of course we know she wasn’t there because Andy gave her away, but I’m excited to see how Woody handles having her back in his life.

But not everyone will be so forgiving, so seriously, four is enough, Pixar.

April 15: M is for Music

I never thought of myself as a music person. I seriously hated musicals because I thought songs were the most boring and embarrassing part of the whole thing. Ironic now that those boring embarrassing songs are my life, and nothing makes me happier than when I’m doing one.

But Pixar music always made a lasting impression on me. Such as that iconic music playing at the beginning of Monsters Inc., or the defining song of Cars that plays during the first scene, or “Touch the Sky,” the song in Brave that gives me energy no matter what. And of course there’s “You’ve Got a Friend in Me,” which is pretty much as famous as “Let it Go.”

I’m not familiar with the music for Good Dinosaur yet, but I know the four wizards who came before that movie: Michael Giacchino, Randy Newman, Patrick Doyle, and Thomas Newman, pretty much hit a home run every time, and were the only reasons I paid attention to music in movies when I was growing up. Before I became an actress.

So, good job guys!

music-278795_1920.jpg

April 16: N is for Nostalgia

I like nostalgia, because it gives me the same pain as when movies make me cry. Both hurt so much I wouldn’t trade them for anything. I don’t get nostalgia a lot, because I was a timid little girl who kept her head down and face covered for most of her childhood. I’m not exaggerating. I know I’m not because I still do it whenever it’s socially acceptable.

I get nostalgia from the smell of the school where I went to kindergarten, and at the sight of my first best friend’s house, and when the classic Winnie-the-Pooh movie is playing somewhere near me.

And from Toy Story 2. My grandmother has always had an extensive collection of Disney VHS tapes, and that was the only place outside of the movie theater I saw trailers. Several trailers were shown on more than one tape, and I can’t watch their movies without remembering my childhood. Toy Story 2 was one of these, and after seeing it once when it came out, I didn’t see it again until I was sixteenish, and wow what a flood of memories came along with it. It’s so odd, because I’ve now seen all these movies in a loop, and I still know the bits from that trailer best.

Toy Story 2.jpeg

 

See you next time for Days 15-17!

2 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge, Days 12-14

  1. Thanks so much for the encouragement! I try to theme my posts differently according to my categories, but you’re right, Pixar sometimes gets more than its fair share! : D

    Like

Leave a Reply

