Three Things I Can’t Live Without

Here is Day 3 of the June 1-30 Challenge. Still fun so far!

What are three things you can’t live without (or wouldn’t want to)?

The boring answer is food, water, and air, of course. But that would be the scientist’s response, and real writers are typically not scientists.

Well, I look at this challenge, and I think “There are so many things I couldn’t live without, that if I was stranded on a deserted island with only three, they wouldn’t get me through it.”

But then I look at it the other way and realize if I was stranded on a deserted island, there’s a lot I actually could live without, since I would be in survival mode anyway.

landscape-540122_1920.jpg

But here are three I know I would shrivel up and become a hollow shell without:

  1. My imagination
  2. My memories
  3. My religion

My imagination has always, and I do mean always, been there for me. I’ve been imagining alter-egos of myself since I was in preschool, and when alone I’ve always narrated my actions to myself as if someone was writing it all down. Apparently my mother did that too…I didn’t know that was a thing! But my mom probably outgrew that, and I haven’t. I still live my life through my alter-ego’s eyes, and everything in my life is incorporated into hers. My imagination helps me write, it helps me act, and it helps me get through horrible situations by either thinking of a worse one, or that I’m doing something really heroic by living through it. This could be described as me living in a non-reality, but I know how to distinguish between the two. And real actors never quite grow up anyway. 

Memories are people’s everything, and there is never any kind of scenario in fiction or non that justifies people losing that. Even if they have perfectly rotten lives, their memories shape who they are, and how they see the world, and teach them how to cope with every situation thrown their way. And if one is lucky enough to have something amazing to remember, nothing should take that away; nothing should harm that, because that may be all they have to keep them going. And if I was stranded on a deserted island with a certainty of death, I would at least want to be thinking about the sensation I felt while acting, or the way Sam never let Frodo go.

photo-256887_1920.jpg

Religion is way more important than food and water and air anyway. I’m a pessimistic depressionist, so the only reason I bother trying to do anything remotely virtuous is because I know there’s a reason for it. If I didn’t believe in an afterlife and I was stranded on a deserted island I would waste no time looking for a way to end myself, just so I wouldn’t have to put up with the misery of the inevitable.

Sorry, I realize that took a really dark turn. But that’s what happens when you get an actress who’s also a writer.

They get kinda dramatic.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Three Things I Can’t Live Without

Leave a Reply

