Photo Challenge #1

June 1-30 Challenge Day 4. I really don’t know how to introduce this ceremoniously anymore, so I won’t.

Post a picture representing the number 4.

Ugh, I’ve never been good at photos. I only vaguely know what a selfie is, and I only recently got a device that would allow me to take them if I ever felt so self-absorbed.

I sound really old, but I’m not even 21 yet.

So here’s one not by me, but at least I didn’t get it off the internet. I’m actually in this one.

photo.JPG

This picture was taken at my last show with my first theater group. The group that introduced me to the horror of auditions, the thrill of first seeing cast lists, the addictive pleasure of being onstage, the torture of mic tape. This show only was my last because I got too old for it. It was a children’s theater after all, and once I became an adult I was no longer welcome.

And the same was also true for these other three, who were experiencing the same bittersweetness of outgrowing this theater that had done so much for them. We were the four graduates in this show, which happened to be Annie Get Your Gun, and so this picture will always be super special to me. This show was also probably one of my favorites I ever did.

So there, I survived my first photo challenge. From left to right you see Annie Oakley, Charlie Davenport, a Dancing Cowgirl, and Foster Wilson.

Who were all probably dying a little bit inside.

I was, anyway.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Photo Challenge #1

  1. “The group that introduced me to the horror of auditions, the thrill of first seeing cast lists, the addictive pleasure of being onstage, the torture of mic tape.” Perfect description of my four younger kids’ early theater experiences!

    Andrew ended up being in more than two dozen community theater productions and had paid acting gigs the summers after high school graduation and his first two years of college. He loved performing! The theater bug bit the others, but not quite so hard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

