Six Songs I Love

Day 6 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Write about and share six songs or artists you love or six songs you hate.

The word “songs” can cover such a wide variety of artistic creations. I’m pretty sure this was meant to be about pop culture songs you could hear on the radio, but I wouldn’t know, because when it comes to music I stay entirely out of what’s hot.

guitarist-1031087_1920.jpg

Luckily for me there are still musicals full of songs, and songs in movies that I love, and if I wanted to get really technical I could pull in any six of Tolkien’s poems, since those were all “songs.”

So here are six of those that I could listen to all day, or at least sing when I’m not listening to them:

  1. “On My Own” by Claude-Michel Schönberg (Les Miserables)
    This one has spoken to me since before I was a teenager. Something about Eponine being alone and unloved while fantasizing about a better situation made me fall in love with this show and this character. Of course a lot of the characters in this show do the same thing, but I think Eponine is the bravest of them all.
  2. “Into the West” by Annie Lennox (The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King)
    I think I love this song because of where it enters the LOTR universe. If it were after the Fellowship or Towers, I would still love it, I just wouldn’t LOVE it. But, I always have to watch the movies or listen to the soundtracks in order, so for both I love how I’ve gone through this emotional journey with all the characters, and this is a calming way to ease myself out of it.
  3. “Shut Up and Dance” by Walk the Moon (the radio I guess?)
    Honestly, I have no idea why I like this song, and probably in about a month I’ll wonder what I ever saw in it. I guess because the lyrics aren’t terribly weird, and I wish we could all just shut up and dance.
  4. “Marian the Librarian” by Meredith Wilson (The Music Man)
    I love every song in this show (except for about three), but this one never fails to trigger the actor in me. I did this show once, and though my part didn’t learn the dance, I did. I’m not sure if it really served in moving Harold and Marian’s relationship along, but I think this was meant for the teens. Harold won the children over in “76 Trombones,” he won the adults over in “Pick-a-Little, Talk-A-Little” and now he was winning the teenagers over. But other than that, it’s a really cool song.
  5. “The Last Goodbye” by Billy Boyd (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies)
    This song is, I think, brilliance at its finest. It’s probably my favorite of all the songs written for the Middle-earth movies, and it’s a shame it had to be put after the Hobbit. Though maybe that’s one of the reasons I have such emotional attachment towards this song. Even though the Hobbit movies failed drastically, this song still made me feel sad that it was all over, for good this time. And the singer was none other than Pippin, and he pulled lyrics from both The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, and well as previous Middle-earth songs. So, so good.
  6. “Touch the Sky” by Julie Fowlis (Brave)
    This song inspires me like no other song can, and not even because of the lyrics so much, though they certainly help.  I love Scottish things in general, as well as that kind of Celtic music, and when listening to this song I always see Merida doing her free, adventurous escapades, whether I’m actually watching the movie or not. In fact…I’m going to go listen to it right now.

I was supposed to “embed media” in this post, but I copped out and linked all the songs to YouTube videos, because, I’m not a tech wizard.

And to answer the other question of this challenge, I’m indifferent to the song YMCA. I wouldn’t ever choose to listen to it, but it doesn’t get on my nerves. I like those kind of party songs that have choreography, too.

Leave a Reply

