Twelve Things I Am Grateful For

Day 12 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Tell about a dozen things you are grateful to have in your life.

Ooh, look, it’s time for another list!

  1. I am grateful for my parents. I’m one of those terrible people who has difficulty loving every member of my family, but I do love my parents unconditionally. I think they’re honestly the best type, or near it anyway, because they always have taken the time to be part of my world, and kept *ahem* mature conversations away from me at all times while I was growing up, which I now greatly appreciate. And they’re STILL always there for me, always on my side, always supporting me.
  2. I’m grateful for LOTR. I think entering into this world was my first step into adulthood. I was only 11 when I discovered it, but I wasn’t too young to appreciate Frodo’s struggle with evil, or Boromir’s struggle with corruption, or Aragorn’s struggle with becoming who he was born to be, or everyone else’s struggle with what to do with the Ring and how to do it. My writings, and my outlook on life, took a very adult turn after discovering Middle-earth, though thanks to my innocent upbringing I still was unaware of the immoral aspects of life. And it’s still my fallback; I go through so many phases of so many fandoms, but this one never wavers, and is always there for me to lean on.
  3.  I’m grateful for acting. Oh, HOW grateful I am for acting. Acting has pulled me out of my anxious shell of depression in a way nothing else in the world has. Acting has made me more confident, more extroverted, and provided me with some of the only true happiness I experience in life. It’s given me hope for life, it’s given me an educational goal to pursue, and it gave me motivation to get a driver’s license, to get a job, and to go through horribly awkward scenarios to get to it. Most good things in my life have opened up due to acting.Of course it introduced a lot of evils in my life too, but that’s another story.
  4. I’m grateful for my computer. I truly believe that it’s sucking my brain and my time and my extrovert skills away, but I rely on it for nearly everything. For discovering acting opportunities, for writing, for WATCHING MOVIES and other forms of media, and for listening to music. Not to mention my whole job is based on the fact that my “boss” can’t type on a computer, and needs me to do it for her. There are times when my internet is on the fritz, or my computer is not on my person, and it scares me how insecure I feel without it, like I don’t know what to do with myself. I’m working on getting over that, but for now, I’m grateful for it.laptop-154091_1280.png
  5. I’m grateful for my car. Well, really I’m grateful that I have the ability to drive myself anywhere. No, no I am grateful for my car. Granted it’s on its last legs (tires?) and has sucked away more money that’s its worth from me, but I am so, so happy to have one.
  6. I’m grateful for my religion. It’s very comforting to know that even though I have doubt about every single other thing in my life, I’m absolutely confident in this. I don’t have to waste time looking for the meaning of life, and I don’t have to worry about the whole conversion process. I’m set for life (and death!) in this area, and I feel really good about it.
  7. I’m grateful for my ability to write (somewhat). As my dad puts it “Math and science can be taught, but writing has to come from you.” He was talking about school; it’s easier to succeed in something that has right and wrong answers than it is in something that you need a talent for. And I am so grateful that my strong point is in writing rather than math and science. Not to mention I love doing it, and facing the challenges that come with it.
  8. I’m grateful for my imagination. I’ve said this before; it’s always been there for me and I use it in everything that’s important to me, namely writing and acting. I pity the people without imaginations. How do they get color in their world? How are they not smothered by their own consistency?
  9. I’m grateful for my job. I hate it of course, as I’m realizing I will hate every non-acting job done outside of my room, but it’s the best it could possibly be. It’s at somebody’s house, typing, word processing, and spell checking a conscientious college girl’s essays and such. I only have to go three days a week, and I’m paid very generously. She gets two-week vacations every couple of months, which means I do, too. She lives about 10 minutes from my house, and she and her mother absolutely adore me (at least that’s the impression I get). I’m so very blessed in this area.  I’ll be very sad when she moves to a college out-of-state, and I’ll have to find a different job.
  10. I’m grateful for my memories. I’ve said this too; memories are people’s everything and it makes them who they are. I’ve been fortunate enough to get some pretty amazing memories, and there is absolutely nothing I would give them up for. What is life anyway but a journey of making memories?
  11. I’m grateful for my emotions. I debated about putting this, but I was running out of things (yeah, it’s not very often a depressionist counts their blessings), and I realized that in the long run I am glad for them. They’ve caused me some painful heartbreaks when I was a teenager crushing on every guy I saw, and I think they are the reason I over-react and freak out about everything. But they fuel my imagination, acting, and writing, and for me there are few feelings more delicious than crying over a movie/TV show.emoticons-150528_1280.png
  12. I’m grateful for everyone who takes the time to visit my blog. I’m grateful for everyone who follows me, who comments on and likes my posts, who bothers to read my maybe too vulnerable ramblings, even those who may accidentally click it. When I thought of all the people in the world with blogs, I despaired of anybody noticing my little piece of the internet. And even now it’s only a handful of people compared to how many are out there, but I’m thrilled at everything someone does to show they were there. So thank you, small portion of people who have chosen to make time in your lives for my organized chaos!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Twelve Things I Am Grateful For

  1. What an excellent and well-thought-out list. I love LOTR too! When my kids were young, we listened to the entire set of books (unabridged) which gave me the luxury of “reading” them but still being able to use my imagination freely while doing so-the brought me to tears several times as I realized the deep truth contained in the pages. Thanks for sharing this!

    Here’s my response: https://thelifeididntchoose.com/2016/06/12/june-challenge-12-promises-im-thankful-for/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I was the same-my mother read the books to me the first time, and I literally felt like I was in a different world (it helped that she was a good reader). I’m on my way to see your response now!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

