Lucky 13

Day 13 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Tell us about a time you were lucky.

These are certainly getting harder as time goes on.

four-leaf-clover-152047_1280.png

Lucky? No. I have never been lucky. I can’t think of any time where those words entered my mind, so I’m going to have to reach with this challenge.

I was lucky that the LOTR movies came out before I was old enough to care.

Patience has never been one of my virtues, in any kind of sense. I talk fast, I eat fast, I drive fast, I just do everything fast. And I get more irritated than is healthy when people don’t feel my urgency to get through something as fast as possible.

Where am I going with this? Well, I loved those LOTR movies. They became part of my heart and soul the first time I saw them. They changed my life so much that if I had had to wait a year in between each of them, I hate to think what that could have done to my sanity.

And I know this because waiting for the Hobbit movie was torture. You know, the first one, when I didn’t know it would go up in flames. I literally wrote on every day of my calendar “450 days to the Hobbit movie, 449 days to the Hobbit movie, 448 days to the Hobbit movie…” and every thing in my life was based on whether it would happen before or after the Hobbit movie came out. I didn’t know how I’d handle waiting a year in between those either, but then they were awful, so I was fine.

But even though I’ve seen the extended trilogy of LOTR in all its glory about 15 times now, I still am so moved, I still cry, I still feel everything they feel when watching them again. I didn’t enter the world of Middle-earth until five years after The Return of the King came out, and so the first time I saw these movies, and every time after, I have thanked my lucky stars they all came out on DVD before I got crazy obsessed over them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

