Sixteen and Licensed to Drive!

Day 16 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Sixteen is the age at which you can get a driver’s license in most states in the US. Was your first car a Ford? Tell us about getting your license or you first car.

“Life’s like a road that you travel on
There’s one day here and the next day gone…”

According to Rascal Flatts, anyway. I probably wouldn’t like that song if it weren’t in a Pixar movie, but, it is, so I enjoy it by association.

In a valiant effort to make this post more Pixar-themed, I’ll show you the car I got on top of my sixteenth birthday cake:

20160612_203253

 

 

My dad informed me he did that so I could tell all my friends I got a car for my sixteenth birthday. Honestly, it’s in better shape than my real one at this point.

My real one, which I got for free! and which has served me well, but which I will be lucky if it lasts the night. It is (present tense!) a Chevrolet Blazer, and though it’s as red as my Lightning McQueen car, it’s not as glamorous. 

I actually envy the Pixar cars. Driving to them is simply learning how to walk, and they have complete freedom before they get out of kindergarten! Maybe they have a shorter lifespan, though.

Getting my license was a harrowing experience. I’d heard so many horror stories of failed teens, watched all these videos during online training of horrendous accidents by cars, and I’d never been in a situation with a stranger I couldn’t escape from. I made up my mind, when my instructor got in the car, that if I failed that day I wouldn’t be coming back, because I was already sweating buckets, and I never sweat.

And wouldn’t you know it? I started turning left when he said to go right, which I’d read is an automatic fail. But, maybe because he was bored, maybe because he saw it wasn’t actually a fatal mistake, or maybe because he just had a healthy dose of pity, he gave me my license anyway. I have never stopped thanking God for that.

Why couldn’t today be a photo challenge?

Leave a Reply

