Twenty-four Carat Gold–Or At Least My Equivalent

Day 24 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Twenty-four carat gold is valuable. Some value riches above all else. Tell us what is valuable to you. What do you treasure? Write about your treasure.

Something I treasure greatly is something very…well, let’s call it self-absorbent.

At my old theater group, there was always a little awards ceremony for each show. There were never more than sixty cast members, and there were only six awards, so we could do that every time. Five of the awards were given by the directors, for accomplishments such as improvement, or being the most interesting to watch. The last one was the “Light of Christ” award, which was the most coveted, because the whole cast voted on who should get this; who had exhibited the strongest Christ-like qualities.

lightofChrist.jpg

I was only in my third show when I won it. I was still getting to know people, because I’m not great at making friends. No Tony or Oscar could have meant more to me at that moment than this award. Out of all the people to vote for, the majority had chosen me. I never won another award with that group, but I had no need to.

It’s just on my shelf now, gathering dust, but I wouldn’t part with it for anything.

In my current theater group, there are a lot more people and a lot more awards, so we just have one award show a year, to cover all the shows in the past twelve months. Last year I won a most improved award, and it was touching, but no where near the amount of hysteria I experienced when hearing my name called for my “Light of Christ” award.

loc.jpg

2 thoughts on “Twenty-four Carat Gold–Or At Least My Equivalent

Leave a Reply

