Marathon

Day 26 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Tell us about something you worked for. Something you thought you might never accomplish, but you did.

Dancing is one of the those things I absolutely love doing, but am so untalented at. I hope that’s not an incurable malady, but for now I have to deal with the fact that I’m uncoordinated. Even in our home videos when I’m four and trying to be a ballerina, you can tell that there is not a graceful bone in my body. It’s not that I trip over my own feet, or am clumsy exactly, I’m just really gawky. So when I got on dance team for the first time in Promised Land, I almost cried I was so happy.

But that’s not the accomplishment part. The accomplishment is due to the fact that the choreographer was an energetic 21-year-old, and dancing was his life. The dances in this show were all a little tough for me to learn, but they all paled in comparison to the song “Sand City.”

Seven Daughters.jpg

I probably should have said that this show was written specifically for this theater, and this song was made up of about six 80’s songs with changed lyrics. It went on for eight and a half minutes, and dance team had to learn lots of complicated stuff for it. I think we had three or four different rehearsals just to be shown all the steps.

I slaved over that segment of the show. I was terrified that I would blow the trust that had finally been placed in my dancing skills. I must have lost so much weight trying to nail certain steps.

But I did it. The day came where I could do it without even thinking about it, and I never had to worry about fumbling again. And after one of our dress rehearsals, the choreographer- our talented choreographer- called me out for being one of the only ones who actually knew what they were doing. I and another boy, he said, showed they had actually been practicing.

It gave me such hope for my future in dancing.

Leave a Reply

