Twenty-Seven Sentences

Day 27 of the  June 1-30 Challenge.

Write about any subject. You can write about a Marine, a bulldog, or an Englishman if you’d like. You can write about anything! But you must write exactly twenty-seven sentences. No more. No less.

I feel like I’m repeating myself when I praise LOTR over and over and over again. But that’s just because it really is the greatest piece of literature ever constructed.

But that sort of thing usually wouldn’t matter to me. I was an avid reader when I was younger, but I never rated a book based on it’s literary genius, but instead on whether it kept me interested enough to read to the end. So why has LOTR kept me coming back to read it again and again, and how am I still never able to put it down?

I have no idea. The answer I give people is that I must be from that world, or else it wouldn’t call to me so strongly. Or maybe it’s because it’s just written really well, and the writer in me responds to that.

I think maybe its because there’s something so realistic about it. You know, besides the fact that its a different world with Elves and Hobbits and such. The writing never feels forced, and the conversations don’t seem fake, either. You can feel the struggles each character has, and everyone has a different way of speaking that defines their personalities, which I believe is the only way I was able to keep track of so many names the first time I read it.

map of Middle-earth.jpg

Another thing I know I love about this story is it feels so clean without feeling childish. It doesn’t have the immorality of seduction, or homosexual relationships, or drugs messing up people’s lives, or even swear words; things which always make me feel so dirty just hearing about. I would love to write a book that is this innocent without adults scorning it.

And because everything about that world and that story feels either noble and heroic, or beautiful and uplifting. I’ve said before that I would love to live in Middle-earth, and not because it has no trials and tribulations, but because its evils are what make its beauty that much prettier. I feel like in this world the evil is so overpowering that even beauty is marred. That and I know this world isn’t even our final destination, and Heaven will be much more beautiful.

The lines between good and evil are pretty clear in this story, as well. There’s not really any fudging around with grey areas, nor are there people who wallow around in evil and yet are redeemed because they did some good things. It was such a big deal when Boromir was corrupted by the Ring, for a brief time, and Aragorn was so moved by his confession, repentance, and atonement that he couldn’t even tell anyone for a long time. Nowadays there is so much evil in the world that everyone, even the terrorists who go around shooting people, are under the firm impression that they are good people doing the right thing. I hate that; I hate how everyone has their own interpretation of right and wrong, and I long for a world like Middle-earth. To heck with world peace. If we could just have a world where everyone knows the difference between good and evil, the real difference, it wouldn’t matter how much evil there was.

So I can only describe Tolkien as being inspired when he created his masterpiece, and that is why I will never stop praising it.

Leave a Reply

