Track Twenty-nine

Day 29 of the June 1-30 Challenge.

Have you ever ridden a train? Write a post about a train. Tell us about train ride you have taken or one you’d like to take. Make up a story about a train or write a poem featuring a train. Share pictures of trains. Your choice!

Yes, I have ridden a train. Three round-trips. There’s a track by our house that my family has used when going to San Diego or Los Angeles, so we don’t have to fight the traffic.

I really, really don’t like it because of the cramped quarters, but it is a fairly cheap and painless way to get to LA, and since I plan on pursuing acting opportunities there, I’m glad there is an alternative to moving there for me.

Usually when doing something distasteful, I try to think of someone from a movie doing the same thing, so it seems better by comparison. But the only thing I can think of that has a train (that I appreciate, anyway) is The Music Man.

But that’s good enough. I love “Rock Island” from Music Man. I actually don’t like the musicals that open with big ensemble numbers, because to me that’s kind of trying too hard to get the audience involved, so I appreciated the simplicity of this. When I saw this show for the first time, I didn’t know a thing about it, and the family I was with had to explain to me that the first song was traveling salesmen on a train.

And I was sold for life after it. It wasn’t very good; it was only a church production after all, but I loved the staccato way they opened the story, without missing a beat.

In case anyone is interested, I can recite the whole six and a half minutes of it now.

railway-station-1363771_1280

 

Leave a Reply

