The Media of 2017

Apparantly 2013 was a great year for movies. I don’t really see it that way. In fact, the only ones I can remember caring about were The Desolation of Smaug, which made me pop veins it was so bad, and Monsters University, which was great, but not as great as I’d hoped.

But 2017…2017 man is the year to watch things. Let’s just do a quick run-down of some of the amazing movies and TV shows that will be coming out in 2017:

1. Beauty and the Beast (March 17)

2017 B&TB.pngI can’t even. I am so excited for this; I don’t think I’ve been so excited since the Hobbit movies. Let’s just hope this is considerably better. That shouldn’t be too hard.

But seriously, have you seen the cast? Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Ewan McGregor, Ian McKellen, and Emma Thompson??? I know there are more, but these are the ones I care about.

2. Sherlock Season 4 (January)

Sherlock Season 4.png

Like duh. Because we all know how I feel about this show. I’m just lucky it’ll be happening the first day of the New Year. 3 more days, 3 more days…it’s gonna be phenomenal. Seriously, go watch this show now if you haven’t. Or even if you have.

3. Descendants 2 (Summer. I’ll try to tone down on the detail now.)

Descendants 2.jpg

The answer is yes, I am starting to notice that this “amazing” list of movies is really just the ones I’m excited about, with absolutely no regard for how others may feel. And yes, I am also aware that I’m in the minority with thinking some of these are “amazing.” But sue me for being excited about the sequel to the movie that really introduced me to Disney Channel. Not sure how I feel about the hair changes, though…

4. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May 26)

William Turner III.png

Yeah, I’m definitely in the minority for this. Apparantly everyone thinks each subsequent Pirates movie is worse, and more watered down. And maybe they are, though I thought the third one was amazing, and way better than the second.

But…it’s Will Turner’s son, guys! That’s Will Turner’s son!!!

5. Tangled: Before Ever After (February, June)

Tangled Before Ever After.jpg

Okay, I am cautiously excited for this one. Because the trailer…actually looked pretty bad. But it’s Tangled, with the same cast!! How could it not be…well…amazing?

Remember The Lion Guard, Violetta. Remember The Lion-ooh look, it’s Big Hero 6!

6. Big Hero 6: The Series (Since no one knows, I’m gonna go with Fall)

BH6 the series.png

Come on, how could this NOT be good? Even if Tangled isn’t? I have high hopes for this one. And unless it totally destroys everything I adore about the movie, I will be watching it and reveling in its cheesiness.

7. Star Wars Episode 8 (December 15)

Episode 8.jpg

Ah, here’s one that everyone is finally into. Yes, Episode 8, where we start off knowing all the characters, then there are about two hours of character bonding, lightsaber duels, and more questions before nothing is resolved and we plunge into the credits, dismally facing the prospect of another two years before we learn who Rey is. Sorry, I should have put a spoiler alert up.

8. Cars 3 (June 16)

Cars 3 poster.jpg

Don’t try and tell me you didn’t sit up and take notice when you first saw this trailer. I know you all were expecting another kid movie with goofy characters and a stupid storyline, and you were suddenly reminded how Pixar can hit you in the feels when you’re not looking.

I would just like to point out that I liked Cars before it was cool. Well, okay, I didn’t like the first Cars. But I adored Cars 2, and there was a while there when it was my favorite, and then I liked Cars. But I’m warning y’all now, I will cry during this movie. But Lightning won’t die, and you can tell your kids that from me.

9. The Lego Batman Movie (February 10)

Lego Batman.png

Granted, this is only here because everyone expects it to be good. As for me, I’m a little worried that a whole movie about the greatest part of The Lego Movie might be too much of a good thing. But hey, maybe I’m wrong, and the creators actually know what they’re doing. I’m still excited to know how it’ll be.

10. Coco (November 22)

coco.jpg

That’s right, next year is a two-Pixar-movie year! Yay! Of course, the only other time that’s happened, we got The Good Dinosaur. And Inside Out of course, but if Cars 3 is going to be 2017’s Inside Out (or the nearest thing, anyway, obviously no Cars movie will compare to Inside Out, no matter how emotional), that means Coco will be The Good Dinosaur. And still the only thing we know about this is that it’s got a Book of Life vibe, but I never expect Pixar to let me down until it does.

11. Once Upon A Time (March, September?)

OUAT.jpg

I’ve got very mixed feelings about this show. I’m sure I’ll make a post about just how mixed they are some day. But, regardless, this is something I watch, and look forward to, even if I don’t enjoy it when the time comes. But I am curious as to this show’s fate. It’s on Season 6 right now. Will there be an exciting finale next year? Or will it break the record of its predecessor, LOST, and get a seventh season? Either way, it comes back in March, and I am certainly looking forward to seeing how this crazy season wraps up.

12. Thor: Ragnarok (July 28)

Thor 3.jpg

The Marvel movies really aren’t my thing. I despise most of the characters, I struggle with boredom through all the explosions, and I think making sequel after sequel after sequel is just trying to shove way too much down our throats. But I do love me some Thor movies. I was attracted to them first because Natalie Portman has always been one of my favorite actresses, and then because Loki fascinates the heck out of me. He was the only reason I watched the first Avengers. I watched the first Captain America as well, because he is the only Avenger I like, but that’s the extent of my Marvel viewings. Until Doctor Strange. Because now he’s a thing, and what an epic and different kind of superhero he is. It helps that Benedict Cumberbatch plays both him and Sherlock, as well.

So on July 28, there comes a movie with both Loki and Doctor Strange! And Thor, who always makes me laugh, and the Hulk, who I feel so sorry for. No Captain America and no Natalie Portman, regrettably, but still, the fact that this is Loki’s last movie, and that “Ragnarok” means the end of the world kinda means this movie is shaping up to actually give me the experience everyone else has when watching a Marvel movie. And if Loki and Doctor Strange have any kind of conversation, I will consider my life complete. I’m also looking forward to the new Spiderman movie somewhat, because that new kid who is playing him makes me laugh, especially when he interacts with Tony Stark, whom I normally hate, but I love the two of them together. Yes, I know that was a run-on sentence.

And that’s the media I’m most looking forward to. I’ve almost got one thing in each month. What can YOU not wait to see in 2017?

UPDATE: I just binge watched the whole first season of Backstage on Netflix. Maybe it’s because I’m an actress, but that show with all its tackiness and immature teens spoke to me. Now I can’t wait for Season 2, which I imagine will air sometime in March, since that’s when the first one did.

BACKSTAGE.png

 

Leave a Reply

