6 Reasons Why Big Hero 6 is the Best

I love Big Hero 6. I can’t think why, and I certainly didn’t expect to. I mean, it’s a Marvel movie for kids, based on some obscure comic no one has heard of.

Tadashi and Hiro.png

But I’m starting to realize that sometimes I like the smaller, obscure things better than the big things that everybody else likes because they’re supposed to.

To prove my point, here are six reasons why Big Hero 6 simply is the best. The best what? I don’t know, but it’s still the best. There will probably be spoilers, but they’re two years old now, so get over it.

  1. Tadashi

    WHY DID TADASHI HAVE TO DIE????

    Sorry, I’m sorry. That’s just my gut reaction every time I hear his name. I knew he was going to die, because back when I didn’t care about this movie, I watched the trailer, and it told me that Hiro had an older brother who died. I just wasn’t prepared for the half hour of screen time that Tadashi had to make me fall in love with him before they killed him off. He was the greatest, man. Everyone should have a Tadashi. And the rest of the movie really came to be because of him, so there’s that.

  2. Baymax

    Everyone should have a Baymax too, because can you imagine how much people would save on doctor’s bills and medication? Not to mention Baymax is driven by needing to help people, rather than what will get him the most money. And he’s huggable, and adorable, his lines are the best, and if Walle and Eve could love, no one can convince me that this robot didn’t love both Hamada boys, too. Also, he was meant to symbolize Tadashi in the group of superheroes. THAT’S why I loved him so much! And he thought to give his chip to Hiro when he died….AAH!!!!

  3. The fact that it doesn’t need a romance to be great

    Did anyone else notice that? Narry a crush, nor a flirtatious look from any of them. We didn’t even see anybody’s parents together, and the romantic love that would have been between them! Don’t try to tell me Frozen thought of that first, because even though ultimately that movie was about the love between two sisters, Anna still had a relationship with two “cute” guys. This movie genuinely was about the love between two brothers, and their group of friends.

  4. The important lesson about wealth

    We learn a very imporant lesson about wealth in this movie, and that is: you can have all the private islands, family choppers, and butlers who will fist-bump you in the world, and yet you may still end up wearing the same pair of underwear for four days. Can you imagine that pitch meeting, where one of the writers is looking at a sketch of Fred, and goes, “Wouldn’t that be funny if he actually lived in a mansion, even though he thinks ‘Mi casa’ is French for ‘front door?’ “I suppose it could also be considered a subtle dig against stereotyping, because GoGo voiced the thoughts of all of us:
    Me too, GoGo.png

  5. Everyday characters

    So you think of a Marvel movie, and you think superheroes, with super powers, from distant planets, occasionally fighting supernatural enemies. But in this movie, theoretically it could have all happened. Everything, Baymax, the super suits, the microbots, even the portal was a science project. And the villain was just an average Joe who was trying to get back at a co-worker for accidentely killing his daughter. But she didn’t actually die, and the villain was arrested, and the look on his face when he sees his daughter makes me think that he instantly repented of everything. He was no criminal mastermind. He was simply driven by grief.

    None of that is to say he’s misunderstood, though!! He most certainly did wrong, and I will never forgive him for being the cause of Tadashi’s death. He didn’t even care!!

  6. Baymax’s death scene

    Do you know how many times I cried during this movie? THREE!! Three seperate occasions where I started out with dry eyes, and finished the scene sobbing. This was the worst, though, because I cried until the end of the movie. It had hurt Hiro enough when his brother died, but now he had to experience loss again? This was Tadashi’s creation; it was a way of still being with him, and he’s just going to be killed off? I nearly died myself when Baymax said, “Hiro, I will always be with you,” because that, THAT could directly be applied to Tadashi, and probably something he would have said if he’d had the chance.

    But then it turned out he’d given his chip to Hiro, knowing Hiro could make another one?? DISNEY! You have no right to trample my heart so!

    This movie…it’s very unique. Nearly every Disney lead has lost at least one parent, but that’s different from this. The death of the parents almost never impact the characters so much that the whole movie is dedicated to their coping. And I’ve yet to see one like this…where a non-parent’s death came out of nowhere. Tadashi was in no danger, there were no threats, he was just living out his normal life, teasing and being there for his brother like usual, and then, just, gone. We didn’t even know there was a villain on the scene, we thought the fire was an accident! And it isn’t until Baymax, Tadashi’s creation, comes along and accidentally forces Hiro into the world again that the younger Hamada brother learns to deal with his grief. And though he initially became a superhero to avenge the death of his brother, both Baymax’s influence and an old video of Tadashi help Hiro see that he needs to use his smarts for good, and not for revenge.

So yeah, this movie is amazing. It’s better than Frozen, better than Moana, better than The Lion King, and better than any of those other classics people do love to be reminded of. But I am content with not everyone seeing it that way, because I certainly don’t need this movie to be the done-to-death phenomenon that Frozen was.

Big Hero 6.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

