The Other Side of America

Well.

I didn’t think it would really happen. I thought I’d be staying in Southern California forever. Nothing monumental ever happens to me, and I’m starting to think that it’s because God knows that monumental good things also means monumental bad things, and He knows I wouldn’t be able to handle those.

Not that this is monumental to anybody else. Everyone’s moved at some point in their lives, or traveled somewhere far and distant, or at least far and distant enough to be a culture shock while they were there.

But not me. I spent a week in Hawaii when I was seven, a day in Mexico when I was six, and two summer road trips while under age 2o. Heat is something I’m very much acquainted with.

But now I’m moving to Texas. TEXAS. The state with cowboys, and gun-toting civilians, and a whole lot of patriotism. I’m used to blonds, and the beach, and a whole lot of liberals, though for whatever reason guns are banned…? I know it’s very hot there too, but it also gets way cold in the winter. I’ve never even seen snow fall from the sky, and I’ve NEVER lived anywhere different from where I’m living right now.

Am I excited? Sure. That whole cutting ties and starting a new life thing appeals to me, and I think Texas has more of my mindset anyway. But the thought of not being next to a beach is going to make me feel suffocated, as will the labyrinth of traffic-ridden freeways in Dallas, which is supposedly where I’m headed.

Will I miss stuff here? Well, I’ll miss my theater group. I’ll miss some of the people I’ve come to know, but I haven’t gotten to know anyone well enough where they’ll still remember me after six months of not seeing me. And I’ll miss…well… the landmarks, you know? Everything about my life is here, my first theater group, the street I grew up on, the restaurants I have VERY fond memories of when going there with my theater peeps, my old violin teacher’s house, the stores I pass every day when driving somewhere. Virtually every memory I’ve ever created has been in this state, and now, just like that, I’m leaving it all behind.

Wish me luck, y’all. (See, I can speak Texan!) And bear with me for the next couple months, as everything passing through my head will come out through my keyboard for you to read.

(And by the way, I do realize that Texas is in the middle of America, and not the other side of it. I just meant that the views of Americans were on two sides of a coin, Texas is on the opposite side from California.)

texas-1656861_640.jpg

Leave a Reply

